Desert Foothills Youth Theater Earns National Recognition

Monday 7.29.2013 @ 10:00am | ImagesAZ | Community


Desert Foothills Youth Theater has set the stage for young actors and backstage talent to earn national recognition. Three National Youth Arts Awards and 10 nominations were earned by local performers for roles they performed in the past year.


Mason Reeves won a National Youth Arts Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role for his portrayal of the Leading Player in “Pippin.” Spencer Claus won an NYA for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his portrayal of Charlemagne in “Pippin.” Katrine Bjerg was the only winner in the category for Best Hair & Makeup Design, which she won for her work on Disney’s “Aristocats Jr.”


In addition, DFT Youth Theater received the following 10 nominations:

Lead Actor: Mon Bejar as Aladdin in “Aladdin, Jr.”

Lead Actress: Emma Smith as Jasmine in “Aladdin, Jr.”

Supporting Actress in a Musical: Devon Prokopek as Catherine in “Pippin”

Supporting Actress in a Musical: Hannah Rose as Fastrada in “Pippin”

Supporting Actor (Junior Division): Spencer Claus as Jafar in “Aladdin, Jr.”

Supporting Actress (Junior Division): Josie Brzenk as Iago in “Aladdin, Jr.”

Featured Actress (Junior Division): Madison McConville as Roquefort in “The Aristocats”

Ensemble: “Pippin”

Ensemble: “Aladdin, Jr.”

Set Design: Abbie Reed for “Pippin”


Desert Foothills Theater has earned another award in the form of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Scottsdale Cultural Council. These grants, totaling $10,000 are both for general operating support for the organization.


“We are always thrilled when funders recognize the wonderful growth DFT has experienced the past few years, appreciate the strong support from our community and show confidence in our ability to provide strong financial stewardship of the funds,” said Meribeth Reeves, DFT managing director.


ImagesAZ congratulates Desert Foothills Theater and Desert Foothills Youth Theater for their continued accomplishments. Kudos to the many talented people whose hard work contributes to the community in so many ways.